Participants selected for the 15th Joop Swart Masterclass

Twelve young photographers will come together with a group of masters for the 15th annual World Press Photo Joop Swart Masterclass. The masterclass will be held from 8 to 13 November 2008 at Foam_Fotografiemuseum in Amsterdam.

The 12 participants were selected among 132 candidates who had been nominated to submit their portfolios. During the masterclass in November, the participant photographers will interact with six prominent experts to discuss technical, journalistic and ethical aspects of their work.

The photographers selected to participate in the 2008 masterclass were:
•  Peter van Agtmael, the Netherlands/USA
•  Martina Bacigalupo, Italy
•  Massimo Berruti, Italy
•  Andrew Biraj, Bangladesh
•  Michael Christopher Brown, USA
•  Agnes Dherbeys, France
•  Iñaki Domingo, Spain
•  Philipp Ebeling, Germany
•  Clemence de Limburg, Belgium
•  David Magnusson, Sweden
•  Jehad Nga, Libya/USA
•  James Pomerantz, United Kingdom/USA

The participants were selected by an independent, international selection committee consisting of José Azel (Cuba), president Aurora Photos, Magdalena Herrera (France), art director National Geographic France, Marloes Krijnen (the Netherlands), director Foam_Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam, Erik Refner (Denmark), photographer Berlingske Tidende and Massimo Siragusa (Italy), photographer Agenzia Contrasto.

The purpose of the masterclass is to further young and talented photographers' insight into photojournalism. In preparation for the meeting, the participants will execute a photo essay on one single theme, which for this year is ‘Balance'. The essays will be discussed during sessions with the masters and edited into a publication.

Since the inception of the Joop Swart Masterclass in 1994, a total of 164 young photographers have participated in the program, many of them moving on to establish themselves as today's leading photojournalists. In the 2008 World Press Photo contest, 14 of the 59 prizewinners - including Tim Hetherington, winner of the Premier Award - were former participants in the Joop Swart Masterclass.

The Joop Swart Masterclass is supported by Delta Lloyd Group, Stichting Democratie en Media and Canon, who provides all participants with a grant. World Press Photo receives support from the Dutch Postcode Lottery and is sponsored worldwide by Canon and TNT.

About World Press Photo

World Press Photo organizes the leading international contest in visual journalism. The foundation is committed to supporting and advancing high standards in photojournalism and documentary storytelling worldwide. Its aim is to generate wide public interest in and appreciation for the work of photographers and other visual journalists, and for the free exchange of information. The activities include organizing annual photojournalism and multimedia contests and global exhibition tours. The Academy programs strive to stimulate high-quality visual journalism through educational programs, grants and by creating greater visibility through a variety of publications. World Press Photo is an independent, non-profit organization with its office in Amsterdam, the Netherlands, where it was founded in 1955.

For further information, please contact:

The press department at World Press Photo, or tel. +31(0)20 676 6096.



Please click here to view our press kits, request information for media promotions and register for access to the download area.


About the World Press Photo Academy