Photo Contest

The World Press Photo Contest recognizes the best visual journalism of the year. The World Press Photo of the Year is one of the most prestigious photography prizes in the world. For the 62nd edition of the contest, we introduced a major new award: the World Press Photo Story of the Year. Next to these prizes, the contest awards visual stories in eight categories: Contemporary Issues, Environment, General News, Long-Term Projects, Nature, Portraits, Sports, and Spot News.

2020 Contest Timeline

  • 2 December 2019: Contest opens for entries.
  • 9 January 2020: Registration deadline.
  • 14 January 2020: Submission deadline. Contest website closes for entries 12.00 noon CET.
  • 16 April 2020: Nominees are invited to the Awards Show in Amsterdam.
  • 17-18 April 2020: Nominees are invited to attend the World Press Photo Festival in Amsterdam.


The winners of the World Press Photo of the Year and the World Press Photo Story of the Year awards will receive €10,000 each. This means all contest winners will share in prizes totaling more than €130,000 in value.

All nominees are invited to Amsterdam in April to receive their prize at the annual Awards Show. This takes place just before the World Press Photo Festival, an event to which winners are invited, featuring presentations, screenings, workshops and meetups. Read more about the prizes.

The prize-winning photographs are assembled into an exhibition that travels to 45 countries and is seen by more than 4 million people each year. The winning pictures are also published in a yearbook, which is available in multiple languages, and can be purchased in our store.

2020 Photo Contest opens for entries on 2 December 2019

Find out how to enter and about contest categories. Read about entry rules and code of ethics, as well as information about the judging process and verification process.

Questions can be directed via email to

Sign up to receive our contest update emails.