The World Press Photo Digital Storytelling Contest

Digital technologies have transformed how we produce and consume stories.

The World Press Photo Digital Storytelling Contest rewards those producing the best forms of visual journalism enabled by these changes.

The contest is open to digital storytellers, visual journalists, producers, and entry coordinators, with submissions that include the work of a professional visual journalist. 


  • 1 December 2017: Contest website opened for entries
  • 4 January 2018: Contest website closed for entries at 12.00 midday CET and judging began
  • 14 February 2018: Nominees were announced
  • 12 April 2018: Nominees were invited to the Awards Show in Amsterdam during which winners were announced.
  • 13 - 14 April 2018: Nominees were invited to attend the World Press Photo Festival in Amsterdam.


Nominees in each category are invited to the World Press Photo Festival in Amsterdam. A representative from each of the nominated productions will have their travel and lodging paid for by the World Press Photo Foundation. The winners in each category will receive a diploma and a Golden Eye Award, presented during the annual Awards Show.


The World Press Photo Foundation launched its Multimedia Contest in 2011 (renamed the Digital Storytelling Contest in 2016), as a way to recognize the new forms of visual storytelling being enabled by the changing media economy. You can browse the galleries of past winners below:

How to enter

Find out how to enter, categories, and read the entry rules

Sign up to receive our contest update emails.

If you have questions, please send an email to Micha Bruinvels, Director of Contests, at