Photo Contest Jury

The 2019 Photo Contest Jury

Judging the World Press Photo Contest is an intensive process taking place in several rounds over a three-week period, starting on 12 January 2019.

In the first week, the work is done by four independent specialist juries, who judge eight categories. Each jury has a chair responsible for maintaining the integrity of the process, ensuring the deliberations are conducted in accordance with the highest standards, and ensuring that all jury members are fully involved in the judging process.

The News and Documentary Specialist Jury (General News, Spot News, Long-Term Projects and Contemporary Issues)

  • Chair: Whitney Johnson, vice president, Visuals and Immersive Experiences, at National Geographic, United States
  • Christoph Bangert, photographer and teacher, Germany
  • Denise Camargo, photographer, professor, researcher, and cultural project manager, Brazil
  • Davina Jogi, director, Zimbabwe Association of Female Photographers, Zimbabwe
  • Ahmed Najm, managing director of Metrography Agency, Iraq

Portraits Jury

  • Chair: Paul Moakley,deputy director of Photography and Visual Enterprise at Time Magazine,  United States
  • Lekgetho Makola, head of Market Photo Workshop, South Africa
  • Adriana Zehbrauskas, independent documentary photographer, Brazil

Nature and Environment Jury

  • Chair: Neil Aldridge, conservation photographer, South Africa
  • Barbara Stauss, photo director and founding member of Mare Magazine, Switzerland
  • Xi Zhinong, wildlife photographer, China

Sports Jury

General Jury

In the second week of judging, an independent general jury consisting of the chairs of the specialist juries, plus three new members, will choose the nominees:


Each jury is assisted by a secretary, who is responsible for all procedural matters and ensures the rules are fairly and properly applied. The secretaries do not contribute to debate on the merits of any entry and have no vote in the process.

The 2019 Photo Contest secretaries are:

  • Kaat Celis, managing director of Sluitertijd and director of AntwerpPhoto, Belgium
  • David Griffin, owner of DGriffinStudio, United States

Winners will be announced in April 2019

On 20 February 2019, the six nominees for ‘World Press Photo of the Year,’ and the three nominees for the new ’World Press Photo Story of the Year’ award will be announced. The winners of these awards, as well as all the categories, will become known at the Awards Show taking place on 11 April 2019 in Amsterdam.

The winners of ‘World Press Photo of the Year,’  and 'World Press Photo Story of the Year’ will receive €10,000 each. All winners will be invited to the Awards Show. Their work will be showcased in the World Press Photo Foundation global exhibitions and yearbook. This means all contest winners will share in prizes totaling more than €130,000 in value.

Entries now open

The World Press Photo Contest is now open for entries. Entrants must register before 3 January 2019 12 noon CET. Entrants can submit their work through the platform Picter until 8 January 2019 12 noon CET. The 2019 Photo Contest is free to enter and open to all professionals around the world.

Details of the entry rules, procedures, and voting system, along with the code of ethics, categories, and guidance on what is not acceptable with regards to manipulation, are available here