The World Press Photo Foundation is pleased to announce the 2021 Photo Contest winners.

The 2021 World Press Photo Contest winners across the eight categories are 45 photographers from 28 countries: Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Bangladesh, Belarus, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, France, Greece, India, Indonesia, Italy, Iran, Ireland, Mexico, Myanmar, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the Netherlands, and the United States.

The jury of the 2021 Photo Contest selected Mads Nissen’s photograph The First Embrace as the World Press Photo of the Year, and Habibi by Antonio Faccilongo as the World Press Photo Story of the Year.

Meet the 2021 Photo Contest winners
See the 2021 Photo Contest winners gallery

Online World Press Photo Festival

Some 2021 Contests winners presented their work during the online World Press Photo Festival 2021, taking place from 15-17 April. The three-day program included presentations by contest winners sharing the background to their award-winning stories, talks with jury members taking you through the judging process, discussions around the theme of press freedom, and digital spaces for visual storytelling professionals to discuss pressing questions and topics.

Watch the online sessions

2021 Photo Contest

The World Press Photo Contest recognizes the best visual journalism of the last year, rewarding images and stories in eight categories. This year, 4,315 photographers from 130 countries have entered 74,470 images. This is an increase from 2020, when 4,282 photographers from 125 countries entered 73,996 images.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the judging of the 2021 Photo Contest took place entirely online. The judging process for the 2021 Photo Contest involved seven specialized juries and a general jury. The judging process involves several rounds over a six-week period, from 16 January to 23 February 2021. Seven independent specialist juries first shortlisted entries in eight categories. An independent General Jury, a different set of jurors consisting of the 2021 Photo Contest jury chair and six other members, then selected the winners. Meet the 2021 Photo Contest jury.

The 2021 Photo Contest winners are included in the annual World Press Photo Exhibition tour and featured in the World Press Photo Yearbook 2021.

Image credits:
Charlie Cole, Newsweek