2022 Contest awards and prizes

For the 2022 World Press Photo Contest, the winners will be chosen by regional and global juries. Regional juries, made up of five professionals from and/or working in that region, will first prepare a selection of entries per region. From this selection, a global jury, made up of the six regional jury chairs and one additional member, will then award the regional and global winners. Find out more about the judging process

Regional winners

Every regional winner of the contest receives:

  • A monetary prize of €1,000
  • Inclusion in the annual World Press Photo year-long worldwide exhibition
  • Inclusion in the annual collectible yearbook, available in multiple languages with a worldwide distribution of more than 30,000 copies
  • Publication in the online collection and a personal profile on World Press Photo's website
  • Promotion on World Press Photo's platforms
  • Invitation to a winners’ event
  • A physical award
In addition, winners are often featured in major publications and invited to speak at public events, exhibition openings, and lectures throughout the year.

24 regional winners will be awarded, one per category (Singles, Stories, Long-Term Projects and Open Format) per region (Africa, Asia, Europe, North and Central America, South America, and Southeast Asia and Oceania). Read more about the categories and regions

Global winners

A global jury selects the four global winners: the World Press Photo of the Year, the World Press Photo Story of the Year, the World Press Photo Long-Term Project Award, and the World Press Photo Open Format Award. The global winners will be chosen from the regional winners in their respective categories.

In addition to their regional prizes, global winners will also receive:

  • An additional monetary prize of €5,000
  • An additional physical award

Are you looking for more specific information? Visit one of the following pages to find out more about: