Digital Storytelling Contest

2021 World Press Photo Digital Storytelling Contest nominees announced

The World Press Photo Foundation is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2021 Digital Storytelling Contest. The contest, open to short documentary films and interactive productions, recognizes and rewards the best forms of visual journalism enabled by digital technologies.

The 2021 Digital Storytelling Contest nominees are productions from seven countries: Australia, Chile, China, Lithuania, Spain, United States, and the Philippines.

Amongst the nominees are stories about the epicenter of the COVID-19 pandemic, productions documenting the social justice protests around the globe and the effects of climate change, and accounts of women’s and indigenous people’s rights.

2021 Digital Storytelling Contest entries

This year, 335 productions were submitted to the contest: 84 productions in the Interactive category, 102 productions in the Long category, and 149 in the Short category.

Based on the main visual journalist, there are 54 different nationalities represented in the entries received. Although the contest remains dominated by entries from Europe (32% of entries) and North & Central America (32%), entries from Southeast Asia and Oceania (10% compared to 1% in 2020), and South America (10% compared to 6% in 2020) increased significantly.

Based on the main visual journalist, as indicated on the entry, 62% identify as male (65% in 2020), 36% identify as female (32% in 2020), 1.5% prefer not to say or identify with another gender (3% in 2020). Based on the team members, 55% identify as male, 40% identify as female, 4% prefer not to say or identify with another gender.


Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the judging of the 2021 World Press Photo Digital Storytelling Contest took place entirely online between 16 January and 8 February 2021.

An independent jury consisting of seven digital storytellers and multimedia editors from around the world selected the nominated productions. Meet the 2021 Digital Storytelling Contest jury.

Winners announced on 15 April

The winners of the 2021 Photo Contest and the 2021 Digital Storytelling Contest will be announced on 15 April during an online awards ceremony. Both the World Press Photo Interactive of the Year and the World Press Photo Online Video of the Year awards carry a cash prize of 5,000 euros.

The nominees in each category are published in World Press Photo’s online collection and promoted on World Press Photo's platforms. They are also included in those World Press Photo exhibitions that feature the Digital Storytelling Contest and the World Press Photo yearbook. In addition, nominees are invited to the World Press Photo Festival 2021 (which will take place online in April 2021).

Photo Credits:
Still from I Have a Message for You by The New York Times