Participants Of The 21St Joop Swart Masterclass To Be Announced On 24 April

An international and independent selection committee will be gathering in Amsterdam on 23 April to select the 12 participants of the prestigious Joop Swart Masterclass. The names will be announced during the Awards Days, on Thursday 24 April. These young talents will study under a group of masters the first week of November, discussing technical and visual aspects of their work, as well as their role as a photographer.

Selection committee
The panel that will judge the submitted portfolios consists of:
• Rena Effendi (Azerbaijan), photographer;
• Tanya Habjouqa (Jordan), photographer;
• Olivier Laurent (France), associate editor British Journal of Photography;
• Sarah Leen (USA), director of photography National Geographic; and
• Peter Dejong (the Netherlands), photographer The Associated Press.

This committee will also choose the theme that will inspire the participants’ photo essays.

The Joop Swart Masterclass
Acceptance to the masterclass is based on a system of nomination and selection. World Press Photo’s 120 international nominators selected 142 candidates from 53 countries, who were then invited to submit their portfolios.

Since 1994, the Joop Swart Masterclass has brought together some of the finest young photographers from around world, and leading professionals in the fields of documentary photography and photojournalism. It offers a focused, intimate and reflective learning experience to young photographers, aiming to foster their intellectual, artistic and professional growth. The Joop Swart Masterclass holds prime position among the workshops, debates and other educational programs regularly organized within the World Press Photo Academy. It is named after the foundation’s late chairman, who was a passionate supporter of young photographic talent.

The masters of the 2014 Joop Swart Masterclass will be announced later this year.

For more information about the Joop Swart Masterclass, please visit:

For the list of this year's nominees, please visit:

2014 Awards Days: Thursday 24 April 2014 – Friday 25 April 2014
The Awards Days is a celebration to honor the prizewinners of the 57th World Press Photo Contest and 4th Multimedia Contest. The event is filled with activities, including presentations, discussions about issues in the photographic industry such as safety and manipulation, exhibitions and the Awards Ceremony. This year’s Awards Days will include events at two new locations: Compagnietheater and De Nieuwe Kerk.

The 2014 Sem Presser Lecture will be given by fine art photographer Edward Burtynsky and is titled “Consuming Nature.” In addition to the participants announcement, the Awards Days will include other discussions hosted by Aidan Sullivan, vice president photo assignments Getty Images, Jassim Ahmad, global head of multimedia innovation Reuters, and chair of the 2014 World Press Photo multimedia jury, and Olivier Laurent, associate editor at British Journal of Photography.

For the detailed program and for information on how to register, please see:

The Joop Swart Masterclass is supported by Ammodo Foundation, Corbion and Canon, which provides all participants with a grant.
World Press Photo receives support from the Dutch Postcode Lottery and is sponsored worldwide by Canon.

Posted April 17 2014

About The World Press Photo Foundation

We are a global platform connecting professionals and audiences through trustworthy visual journalism and storytelling. Founded in 1955 when a group of Dutch photographers organized a contest to share their work with an international audience, the competition has grown into the world’s most prestigious photography award and our mission has expanded. We encourage diverse accounts of the world that present stories with different perspectives. We exhibit those stories to a worldwide audience, educate the profession and the public on their making, and encourage debate on their meaning.

The World Press Photo Foundation is an independent, nonprofit organization, based in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. We receive support from the Dutch Postcode Lottery and are sponsored worldwide by Canon.