Digital Storytelling Contest

2020 Digital Storytelling Contest


      • 2 December 2019 : The contest website opens for entries.
      • 16 January 2020: The contest website closes for entries (12 noon CET).
      • 25 February: Nominees announced.
      • 16 April 2020: Winners announced.
      • 1 June - 29 November 2020: Flagship World Press Photo Exhibition 2020 at De Nieuwe Kerk, Amsterdam.


      The Digital Storytelling Contest, open to short documentary film and interactive productions, recognizes and rewards forms of visual storytelling enabled by digital technologies. The Digital Storytelling Contest awards visual stories in three categories

      • Interactive
      • Long
      • Short

      The 2020 Digital Storytelling Contest marks the 10th edition of the contest, first introduced in 2011 by the World Press Photo Foundation as the ‘Multimedia Contest’. The 10th edition intends to draw even more attention to the diversity of formats made possible by digital platforms and the constant developments in documentary film and interactive storytelling. The contest is open to digital storytellers, visual journalists, producers, and entry coordinators, with submissions that include the work of a professional visual journalist.


      The Digital Storytelling Contest has two headline awards: the World Press Photo Interactive of the Year and the World Press Photo Online Video of the Year. These awards carry a cash prize of 10,000 euros.

      The nominees in each category will also receive a diploma and a Golden Eye Award.

      Questions can be directed via email to

      Sign up to receive our contest update emails.