2021 World Press Photo Contests

Our annual contests recognize and celebrate the best visual journalism produced over the last year. An independent jury selects the prize-winning photographs and productions.

This year presents a first for the World Press Photo Foundation. Every year we look forward to welcoming industry professionals from all over the world to Amsterdam to judge the best of visual storytelling. Due to the uncertainty of the COVID-19 pandemic, judging will take place online and jury chairs will be joined digitally by a team of experts from around the world to decide on the best visual storytelling of 2020.

The 2021 Digital Storytelling Contest and 2021 Photo Contest will open for submissions on Tuesday 1 December 2020, 12.00 noon CET. Entering the contests is free and open to all professional visual journalists around the world. 

Since 1955, the World Press Photo Contest rewards photographers for the best single exposure pictures contributing to the past year of visual journalism. Whether entered as singles or stories, these pictures are judged in terms of their accurate, fair, and visually compelling insights about our world.

The Digital Storytelling Contest, open to short documentary film and interactive productions, recognizes and rewards forms of visual storytelling enabled by digital technologies.

2021 Contests timeline

  • Entries open: 1 December 2020, 12.00 noon CET
  • Entries close: 12 January 2021, 12.00 noon CET
  • Nominees and winners announced: TBC

Read the latest news about contests

Pan-African Photojournalism and Its Positions

We are proud to present this exhibition and public programming initiative in collaboration with Market Photo Workshop. Check the program and watch the recordings, including a webinar about the World Press Photo Contests with World Press Photo’s director of Contests Anna Lena Mehr, and Lekgetho Makola, head of the Market Photo Workshop and jury chair of the 2020 World Press Photo Contest.

November 27, 2020

Meet the 2021 Contests jury chairs

We're excited to announce that NayanTara Gurung Kakshapati, Nepal, will chair the 2021 Photo Contest jury, and Muyi Xiao, China, will chair the 2021 Digital Storytelling Contest jury.

October 28, 2020

Read the latest news about contests

Photo credits: 
Lee-Ann Olwage
Still from River of Forgiveness by Helios Design Lab