2020 Contest Timeline

  • 2 December 2019: 2020 Photo Contest opens for entries.
  • Registration deadline extended to Monday 13 January 12.00 noon CET. 
  • Submission deadline extended to Thursday 16 January 12.00 noon CET
  • 25 February: Nominees announced.
  • 16 April 2020: Winners announced.
  • 1 June - 29 November 2020: Flagship World Press Photo Exhibition 2020 at De Nieuwe Kerk, Amsterdam.


The World Press Photo Contest recognizes the best visual journalism and awards visual stories in eight categories

  • Contemporary Issues
  • Environment
  • General News
  • Long-Term Projects
  • Nature
  • Portraits
  • Sports
  • Spot News


The winners of the World Press Photo of the Year and the World Press Photo Story of the Year awards will receive €10,000 each. This means all contest winners will share in prizes totalling more than €130,000 in value. Read more about the prizes.

The prize-winning photographs are assembled into an exhibition that travels to 50 countries and is seen by more than 4 million people each year. The winning pictures are also published in a yearbook, which is available in multiple languages, and can be purchased in our store.

Questions can be directed via email to contest@worldpressphoto.org

Sign up to receive our contest update emails.

Image credits:
Charlie Cole, Newsweek