Photo Contest

Entries for the 2021 Photo Contest are now closed.
Nominees will be announced on 10 March 2021.

2021 Contests Timeline

  • Entries open: 1 December 2020, 12.00 noon CET.
  • Entries close: Deadline extended: 13 January 2021, 12.00 noon CET. 
  • Nominees announced: 10 March 2021
  • Winners announced: 15 April 2021


The World Press Photo Contest recognizes the best visual journalism and awards visual stories in eight categories

  • Contemporary Issues
  • Environment
  • General News
  • Long-Term Projects
  • Nature
  • Portraits
  • Sports
  • Spot News


The winners of the World Press Photo of the Year and the World Press Photo Story of the Year awards receive €5,000 each. Read more about the prizes.

The prize-winning photographs are assembled into a worldwide year-long exhibition. The winning pictures are also published on World Press Photo's website, across our social media platforms, and in our annual yearbook, which is available in multiple languages.

Questions can be directed via email to

Sign up to receive our contest update emails.

Image credits:
Charlie Cole, Newsweek