2017 Joop Swart Masterclass

World Press Photo announced the names of the 12 young photographers who will participate in the 24th edition of the prestigious Joop Swart Masterclass during the World Press Photo Festival.

Acceptance to the masterclass is based on a system of nomination and selection. The nominating committee selected 187 young photographers this year. An independent selection committee then made the final online selection of the 12 participants based on their submitted portfolio.

The following 12 photographers—7 women and 5 men from 11 countries and 5 continents—will join the 2017 Joop Swart Masterclass, to be held in Amsterdam in September:

The runners-up will automatically be nominated in 2018:

  • Aleksey Kondratyev, Kyrgyzstan
  • Marie Hald, Denmark

The masters for the 24th Joop Swart Masterclass will be announced soon.

The Joop Swart Masterclass is supported by our worldwide partner Canon, which provides each participant with a grant. This year’s participants will be able to select the newly released Canon EOS 5D Mark IV.