2022 Contest categories

The 2022 World Press Photo Contest works with 6 worldwide regions – Africa, Asia, Europe, North and Central America, South America, and Southeast Asia and Oceania. Entries will be judged in the region in which they have been taken, for example a single photograph taken in Canada would be entered into North and Central America in the Singles category. Find out more about the regions here.

Each region has four format-based categories: Singles, Stories, Long-Term Projects and Open Format.
These categories welcome entries that document news moments, events and aftermaths, as well as social, political and environmental issues or solutions.

These format-based categories encompass all thematic categories from previous contests – such as general news, spot news, contemporary issues, environment, nature, sports, portraits – therefore entries on a wide range of themes may be submitted to the appropriate format-based category.


  • Single frame photographs.
  • All singles must have been shot in 2021.
  • All singles will be eligible for the World Press Photo of the Year.


  • Stories can contain between 3 and 10 single frame photographs.
  • All photographs entered into the stories category must have been shot in 2020 or 2021. At least one photograph in a story must have been shot in 2021.
  • All stories will be eligible for the World Press Story of the Year.

Long-Term Projects

  • Projects on a single theme containing between 24-30 single frame photographs.
  • An entry must contain photographs from at least three different years, and a minimum of four photographs must have been shot in 2021.
  • All projects will be eligible for the World Press Photo Long-Term Project Award.

Open Format

  • The Open Format category welcomes a range and/or mixture of storytelling mediums (including but not limited to): Polyptychs; multiple exposure images; stitched panoramas; photographic collages; interactive documentaries (for example AR, VR, web-based etc); short documentary videos of up to 15 minutes.
  • The main visual content of the project must be still photography, but can be presented in combination with (but not limited to) video, animation, graphics, illustrations, sound or text.
  • Entries in this category must have been produced or first published in 2021.
  • All projects that include text or audio elements must either have English-language audio and/or text or must be subtitled in English.
  • Entries in this category must be accessible online.
  • All projects will be eligible for the World Press Photo Open Format Award.

If you have questions about the new categories, please contact

Are you looking for more specific information? Visit one of the following pages to find out more about: