2024 Contest

Regional winners announced

The annual World Press Photo Contest recognizes and celebrates the best photojournalism and documentary photography produced over the last year. Selected from more than 61,000 entries, we’re excited to present the regional winners of the 67th annual World Press Photo Contest! 

Regional winners

From devastating conflicts and political upheaval to the climate crisis and the safe passage of migrants, the award-winning works document some of the most pressing issues facing the world today. In bringing together such important stories, the selection encourages greater understanding and awareness of current events, as well as serves as a reminder of the need for press freedom in all corners of the world.

The 24 winners, six honorable mentions, and two jury special mentions were selected by an independent jury out of 61,062 entries by 3,851 photographers from 130 countries.


Judging of the 2024 World Press Photo Contest took place in January and February 2024 and involved regional juries and a global jury. The regional juries first made a selection of entries per category in their regions, after which the global jury decided on the regional winners. Learn more about the judging process.

“These final selected works are a tapestry of our world today, centered on images we believe were made with respect and integrity, that can speak universally and resonate far beyond their origins. This is an opportunity to applaud the work of press and documentary photographers everywhere - made with courage, intelligence, and ingenuity - and to amplify the importance of the stories they are telling, often in unimaginable circumstances.” - 2024 Contest global jury chair Fiona Shields, Head of Photography at The Guardian.

Global winners

The four global winners–the World Press Photo of the Year, the World Press Photo Story of the Year, the World Press Photo Long-Term Project Award, and the World Press Photo Open Format Award–will be announced on 18 April 2024 at 11.00 AM CEST (Netherlands time) online and at the press opening of our flagship exhibition at De Nieuwe Kerk in Amsterdam.

Sign up for our newsletter to receive the latest news.


  • Entries open: 1 December 2023, 13.00 CET (Amsterdam time)
  • Entries close: 12 January 2024, 13.00 CET (Amsterdam time) (deadline extended)
  • Regional winners announcement: 3 April 2024, 11.00 CEST
  • Global winners announcement: 18 April 2024, 11.00 CEST
  • Flagship World Press Photo Exhibition 2024 opens in Amsterdam: 19 April 2024
Do you want to be notified about any upcoming announcements regarding the 2024 Contest? Sign up here.

Are you looking for more specific information? Visit one of the following pages to find out more about: 

Image credits: Frank van Beek, ANP