2015 Masterclass: Latin America

The first regional masterclass was run in collaboration with the Fundación Pedro Meyer, held in Mexico City between 7-11 December 2015.

The World Press Photo Foundation is implementing a new strategy of regional masterclasses. As satellites of the Joop Swart Masterclass held each year in Amsterdam, these regional masterclasses will help to develop a more diverse range of global talent.

The participants:

The World Press Photo Foundation and Fundación Pedro Meyer are pleased to announce that the 12 photographers—seven men and five women of nine different nationalities—who will join Masterclass Latin America are:

  • Alejandro Kirchuk, Argentina
  • Dominic Bracco II, USA based in Mexico
  • Emilia Lloret, Ecuador
  • Felipe Dana, Brazil
  • Jasmine Bakalarz, Argentina
  • Jonas Wresch, Germany, based in Colombia
  • Juanita Escobar, Colombia
  • Meredith Kohut, USA based in Venezuela
  • Musuk Nolte, Peru
  • Tamara Merino Bloch, Chile
  • Tiago Coelho, Brazil
  • Yael Martínez Velázquez, Mexico

    The World Press Photo Masterclass Latin America will give the participating 12 photographers—all from and/or based in Latin America—instruction under the guidance of six masters. These experts will discuss technical and visual aspects of the participants’ work, as well as their overall purpose as photographers. The essays will be discussed with the masters and edited for an online publication on ZoneZero, Fundación Pedro Meyer’s online magazine.

    The masters:

    • Adriana Zehbrauskas, Brazil based in Mexico, photojournalist
    • Alejandro Chaskielberg, Argentina, photographer
    • Pablo Ortiz Monasterio, Mexico, photographer and editor
    • Rodrigo Abd, Argentina based in Peru, photographer AP
    • Silvia Omedes, Spain, independent curator and director Photographic Social Vision Foundation
    • Veronica Cordeiro, Brazil based in Uruguay, Curator at Centro de Fotografia de Montevideo, Uruguay

    Selection committee:

    Participants in the Masterclass Latin America were chosen through a system of nomination, followed by the review of submissions by an independent selection committee. A total of 155 nominators were invited to nominate and proposed 63 nominees, and 59 of them submitted their portfolios. The selection committee who then chose the final 12 participants comprised:

    • Ana Cecilia Gonzáles Vigil, Peru, director of photography, Amauta, El Comercio magazine
    • Daniel Merle, Argentina, editor and curator
    • JJ Estrada, Guatemala, co-founder and director La Fototeca / GuatePhoto Festival