Presenting the 2018 World Press Photo Contests Juries

The World Press Photo Foundation is pleased to introduce the members of the 2018 Digital Storytelling Contest and the 2018 Photo Contest juries.

The Digital Storytelling Contest and the Photo Contest will be judged simultaneously in January 2018. Both contests will open for entries on 1 December 2017.

Micha Bruinvels, Director of Contests at the World Press Photo Foundation:

“We are very excited about the start of 2018 contest season and very much looking forward to the choices the juries will make.

The entries to the Digital Storytelling Contest will be examined by a group of 32 distinguished experts from diverse backgrounds in four specialized categories. The winners are chosen in two phases: for each category all entries will be reviewed by three members of the screening panel and then the jury of five will choose the winners.

The 2018 Photo Contest Jury represents a powerful global mix of experienced women and men, from diverse photography backgrounds, working in different professions and organizations. In addition to the choice of the World Press Photo of the Year, there is a lot of anticipation about will be awarded in the new Environment category, which deals with the human impact on the environment. This means the Nature category will focus on showing flora, fauna and landscapes in their natural state.”

The 2018 Digital Storytelling Contest, 8th edition

The Digital Storytelling Contest rewards those producing the best forms of visual journalism enabled by digital technologies and the spread of the Internet. The contest is open to digital storytellers, visual journalists and producers, with submissions that include the work of a professional visual journalist.

The contest has four categories and is judged online. 


The members of the specialist juries are:

1. Short Form

Jon Petter Evensen, Norway, assistant professor Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences
Nancy Donaldson Gauss, USA, executive director for video The New York Times
Madi Ju, China, head of content VICE China
Uwe H. Martin, Germany, photographer and producer Bombay Flying Club
Emin Özmen, Turkey, photographer Magnum Photos

2. Long Form

Julie Winokur, USA, executive director Talking Eyes Media
Pep Bonet, Spain, filmmaker and photographer NOOR
Olivier Sarbil, France, director of photography and filmmaker
Jonathan D. Woods, USA, executive producer TIME
Pearly Jacob, India, freelance video journalist and filmmaker

3. Immersive Storytelling

Claudine Boeglin, France, producer and founder Dandy Vagabonds Ltd.
Héctor Ayuso, Spain, founder and director OFFF Festival
Jessica Brillhart, USA, VR creator
Opeyemi Olukemi, USA, executive producer POV Digital
Michael Tabb, USA, video journalist Quartz

4. Innovative Storytelling

Josh Begley, USA, data artist and web developer
Patricia Bergeron, Canada, producer Leitmotiv
Christilla Huillard-Kann, France, producer
Matteo Moretti, Italy, designer and researcher Free University of Bozen-Bolzano
May Abdalla, UK, co-director ANAGRAM

Before judging starts, all entries are reviewed by a screening panel that chooses which entries should move forward into the judging process.

The 2018 Photo Contest, 61st edition

The annual photo contest rewards photographers for the best single-exposure pictures contributing to the past year of visual journalism.

The World Press Photo Foundation is honored to welcome Magdalena Herrera as chair of the 2018 Photo Contest general jury. Herrera will be joined by a group of professionals in four specialist juries and the general jury.

Judging the 2018 World Press Photo Contest is an intensive process. Details of the procedures and voting system, along with the code of ethics, rules, categories, and guidance on what is not acceptable with regards to manipulation, are available on our website. 

There are two weeks of judging taking place over a three-week period, commencing 13 January 2018. In the first week of judging, the work is done by four specialist juries, judging eight categories:

1. The News and Documentary categories
(comprises General News, Spot News, Long-Term Projects and Contemporary Issues)

Chair: Magdalena Herrera, France, director of photography Geo France
Zohra Bensemra, Algeria, chief photographer NW Africa Reuters
Jon Jones, UK, independent photography editor and curator
Alice Martins, Brazil, photojournalist
Laurence Tan, Singapore, assignment editor Getty Images

2. Sports category

Chair: Thomas Borberg, Denmark, photo-editor-in-chief Politiken
Wong Maye-E, Singapore, photojournalist
Simon Bruty, UK, photographer

3. Nature and Environment categories

Chair: Whitney C. Johnson, USA, deputy director of photography National Geographic
Britta Jaschinski, Germany, photographer and co-founder Photographers Against Wildlife Crime
Tony Wu, USA, photo-naturalist

4. People category

Chair: Jérôme Huffer, France, head of photo department Paris Match
Joana Choumali, Ivory Coast, photographer
Carla van de Puttelaar, the Netherlands, photographer and art historian

In the second week, Magdalena Herrera will be joined by the chairs of the three other specialist juries, plus three new members, to make up the general jury who chooses the final winners:

General Jury
Chair: Magdalena Herrera, France, director of photography Geo France
Thomas Borberg, Denmark, photo-editor-in-chief Politiken
Marcelo Brodsky, Argentina/Spain, visual artist
Jérôme Huffer, France, head of photo department Paris Match
Whitney C. Johnson, USA, deputy director of photography National Geographic
Bulent Kiliç, Turkey, chief photographer Turkey Agence France Presse
Eman Mohammed, Palestinian Territories, photojournalist

David Griffin, USA, owner DGriffinStudio
Silvia Omedes, Spain, independent curator and director Photographic Social Vision Foundation

Each jury is assisted by a secretary. The secretary is responsible for all procedural matters and ensures the rules and procedures are fairly and properly applied. The secretary does not contribute to debate on the merits of any entry, and has no vote in the balloting.

Open for entries

The 2018 Photo Contest and 2018 Digital Storytelling Contest will be open for professionals to enter their work on 1 December 2017.

The submission deadline for the Digital Storytelling Contest is 12.00 (noon) CET on 4 January 2018.

The registration deadline for the Photo Contest is 12.00 (noon) CET on 4 January 2018, and the submission deadline is 12.00 (noon) CET 9 January 2018.