Supervisory Board and International Advisory Committee

Supervisory Board and International Advisory Committee

World Press Photo Foundation has a two tier board structure, with the Supervisory Board supervising the strategy and policy of the Executive Board and the general course of affairs of the organization and its stakeholders. 

An International Advisory Committee has been appointed to advise the foundation on how to stay globally relevant.

Members of the Supervisory Board

  • Chair: Janne E. Nijman, professor of History and Theory of International Law, University of Amsterdam, and professor of International Law, Geneva Graduate Institute
  • Treasurer: Marlou Banning, chief financial officer, Luchtverkeersleiding Nederland
  • Dirk-Jan Visser, documentary photographer and lecturer
  • Jamila Aanzi, independent consultant and trainer in leadership and empowerment
  • Jolanda Holwerda, founder, Lof Foundation, and co-founder, Circular Leadership
  • Lara Luten, chief of staff, World Business Council for Sustainable Development, and founder, Blikverruimers

  • Ahmet Polat, photographer, editor-in-chief at broadcaster HUMAN,  and multi-disciplinary artist

Members of the International Advisory Committee

  • Chair: Brigitte Baptiste, Colombia, cultural landscape ecologist, expert on environmental issues and biodiversity, and an important leader in gender diversity
  • Mark Sealy, United Kingdom, executive director of Autograph ABP and principal research fellow, Decolonising Photography at University Arts London
  • Newsha Tavakolian, Iran, photojournalist, documentary photographer and a 2021 World Press Photo Contest winner
  • Tanvi Mishra, India, photo editor, curator, writer and creative director, The Caravan. Former World Press Photo Contest jury member