2016 Masterclass: East Africa

The Masterclass took place in Nairobi, Kenya, from 28 November to 2 December 2016, supporting the most promising young visual journalists from the region in their professional development

This masterclass is the second in the World Press Photo Foundation’s series of satellite masterclasses, based on the formula of the annual Joop Swart Masterclass for the world’s most talented upcoming visual journalists. The first satellite event was the Masterclass Latin America, which took place in Mexico in December of 2015.

The participants:

Three jury members selected 12 participants from 110 submitted portfolios. The following 12 photographers—7 women and 5 men of 8 different nationalities—are:

  • Biko Wesa, Kenya
  • Brian Otieno, Kenya
  • Cynthia Matonhodze, Zimbabwe
  • Emma Nzioka, Kenya*
  • Esther Mbabazi, Uganda
  • Hilina Abebe, Ethiopia
  • Landry Nshimiye, Burundi
  • Maheder Tadese, Ethiopia
  • Miora Rajaonary, Madagascar
  • Mohamed Elsadig, Sudan
  • Thoko Chikondi, Malawi
  • Zinyange Auntony, Zimbabwe
    The two runners up were:

  • Tafadza Ufumeli, Zimbabwe
  • Ray Ochieng, Kenya**

    * Emma Nzioka, Kenya, was selected as a participant, but she was unable to attend last minute.

    ** We are sad to have learned about the sudden death of second runner-up Ray Ochieng, a talented and promising Kenyan photographer. Our condolences to his family and friends.

    The masters:

    The World Press Photo Foundation is also pleased to welcome the following masters:

      • Andrew Esiebo, Nigeria
      • Neo Ntsoma, South Africa
      • Thomas Mukoya, Kenya
      • Julien Jourdes, France
      • Jodi Bieber, South Africa

      The masters were chosen to meet the learning needs and wishes of the selected participants. They shared their expertise and provided individual advice to all participants. The masterclass curriculum was structured around photo essays based on a central theme, “Community”, that participants were required to work on in preparation for the masterclass. The masterclass week also included lectures and individual instruction with all masters.

      The selection committee:

      • Bisi Silva, independent curator, founder and director of the Centre for Contemporary Art in Lagos
      • Carl de Souza, AFP Chief Photographer East Africa
      • John Fleetwood, director of Photo and former head of the Market Photo Workshop in Johannesburg.