2021 Contests nominees announced 10 March

The 2021 World Press Photo Contests nominees will be announced on 10 March

On 10 March 2021, the World Press Photo Foundation will announce the nominees for the 2021 Photo Contest and 2021 Digital Storytelling Contest. This announcement will include the nominees for the World Press Photo of the Year, World Press Photo Story of the Year, World Press Photo Interactive of the Year, and World Press Photo Online Video of the Year, as well as the nominees in each category.

Please find below the key dates and useful information ahead of the announcement.

Key dates:

  • 16 January - 4 February: 2021 Digital Storytelling Contest judging period
  • 16 January - 23 February: 2021 Photo Contest judging period
  • 10 March, 12:00 CET: 2021 Contests nominees announced
  • 15 April: Awards Show (Online)
  • 16-17 April: World Press Photo Festival (Online)
  • 17 April - 25 July: Flagship World Press Photo Exhibition 2021 in Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Online format

Since 1955, the annual World Press Photo Contest has recognized the best single exposure pictures that contributed to the prior year of visual journalism. For the first time, the judging of the 2021 World Press Photo Contests is taking place entirely online due to the pandemic. Joining jury chairs NayanTara Gurung Kakshapati and Muyi Xiao are 33 visual storytelling experts from around the world. Meet the 2021 Photo Contest and Digital Storytelling Contest juries.

The winners of the 2021 Contests will be announced on 15 April. Because of the pandemic, the Awards Show and World Press Photo Festival will also take place online. More information about these events will follow up soon.

For more information, please contact the Communications team at communications@worldpressphoto.org