Introducing the 2020 World Press Photo Contest Jury

Meet the jury of the 2020 Photo Contest

We are pleased to announce the 16 professionals from all around the world who will join Lekgetho Makola, chair of the 2020 Photo Contest jury, to select the winners of the 2020 Photo Contest and award the best photojournalism of 2019.

Entries for our 63rd annual Photo Contest are open for registrations until 9 January and submissions until 14 January 2020! After that, the judging will take place in Amsterdam, the Netherlands, from 20 January to 8 February 2020. 

2020 Photo Contest juries

The judging process for the 2020 Photo Contest involves four specialized juries and a general jury. It takes place in several rounds over a three-week period.

Four independent specialist juries first shortlists entries in eight categories. Each jury has a chair responsible for maintaining the integrity of the process, ensuring the deliberations are conducted in accordance with the highest standards, and that all jury members are fully involved in the judging process. Each jury is assisted by a secretary.

News and Documentary jury

Portraits jury

Nature and Environment jury

  • Chair: Sabine Meyer, USA/France, Director of photography, National Audubon Society
  • Ian Teh, United Kingdom/Malaysia, photographer for Panos Pictures
  • Lars Lindemann, Germany, director of Photography, GEO magazine

Sports jury

An independent general jury consisting of the chairs of the specialist juries, plus three new members, become part of the general jury, who then selects the winners.

General jury

  • Lekgetho Makola, South Africa, head of Market Photo Workshop
  • Lucy Conticello, Italy/USA/United Kingdom, director of Photography, M magazine, Le Monde
  • Sabine Meyer, USA/France, director of Photography, the National Audubon Society
  • Chris McGrath, Australia, photographer for Getty Images
  • Mariana Bazo, Peru, photojournalist
  • Pete Muller, USA, photographer and multimedia producer
  • Tanvi Mishra, India, photo editor, curator, and creative director, The Caravan


  • David Griffin, USA, founder and creative director of D Griffin Studio
  • Kaat Celis, Belgium, managing director of Sluitertijd and director of AntwerpPhoto
  • Loup Langton (secretary trainee), USA, photographer and editor 

Contest open for entries 2 December 2019 - 14 January 2020

Registrations for the Photo Contest are open until 9 January, and submissions until 14 January 2020. It is free to enter and open to all professional photojournalists around the world. To highlight diverse stories, the Photo Contest awards single exposure images in eight categories: Contemporary Issues, Environment, General News, Long-Term Projects, Nature, Portraits, Sports, and Spot News. The winners of the headline prizes ‘World Press Photo of the Year’ and ‘World Press Photo Story of the Year’ both receive a cash prize of €10,000.

All the awarded images are showcased to a global audience through our annual exhibition and yearbook.

Legketho Makola, chair of the 2020 Photo Contest Jury, encourages all photojournalists to enter:

Not all images get to win the top prize, but all images get to enlighten all of us at this level. We exit the jury duties with more inspiration, knowledge and understanding of the practice from a world perspective, including stories to share back in our regions.”

Nominees will be announced on 25 February 2020, and the winners will be announced on 16 April 2020.

We want to spotlight the stories that matter. We want to get diverse submissions for the independent jury to consider. The jury can only judge what is entered, so be sure to enter!

Find out more about the Photo Contest timeline, categories, prizes, and entry rules.

Browse the archive of award-winning photos

Image credit: Frank van Beek, Hollandse Hoogte