New chair and member Supervisory Board World Press Photo Foundation

World Press Photo Foundation new Supervisory Board chair and member announced

The World Press Photo Foundation is pleased to announce that Janne Nijman has been appointed as the new chair of the Supervisory Board and Jamila Aanzi has been appointed as a new Supervisory Board member, starting 1 February 2022.

World Press Photo Foundation has a two tier board structure, with the Supervisory Board supervising the strategy and policy of the Executive Board and the general course of affairs of the organization and its stakeholders. An International Advisory Committee advises the foundation on how to stay globally relevant.

Janne Nijman will replace Marlou Banning, current interim chair, who supported the board over the last year in a time of transition towards the new strategy, as initiated by executive director of World Press Photo Foundation, Joumana El Zein Khoury. Marlou Banning remains on the board as treasurer.

Jamila Aanzi will join as a member of the board. Board member Narda van 't Veer decided, after a four year term, to leave her position at the end of 2021.

Joumana El Zein Khoury, executive director of World Press Photo Foundation, states: “Alongside the Selection Committee, we consulted different people from outside our network when searching for the two new board members. We were deeply impressed by Janne’s broad expertise in human rights law and the public sector, in addition to her work in gender and race representation. Through holding several chair seats on other boards, we were convinced and assured of her excellent governance abilities. For Jamila, we were drawn to her knowledge in education, diversity and inclusion, as well as her young leadership and international networks. We are very much looking forward to welcoming these two impressive changemakers to our organization. We would also like to say a huge thanks to Marlou for her unwavering dedication as interim chair during a period of change for World Press Photo and are glad she will remain on the board as treasurer.”

The Selection Committee was formed of Joumana El Zein Khoury and board members Dirk-Jan Visser and Jolanda Holwerda.

Janne Nijman is chairperson of the Executive Board of the T.M.C. Asser Instituut in The Hague, and its academic director. She is professor of History and Theory of International Law at the Faculty of Law of the University of Amsterdam, and also professor of International Law at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva. Nijman is a member of several boards including peace organisation PAX for Peace, the think-tank International Centre for Counter-Terrorism, and currently serves on the international jury for the UCLG Peace Prize.

Janne Nijman states, “In support of the new strategy of the World Press Photo Foundation, I am honored to be joining the organization as chair of the Supervisory Board. This position aligns with my expertise in international and human rights law, freedom of speech, and the protection of gender equality in professional environments. I greatly value World Press Photo’s contribution to trustworthy visual reporting and storytelling in today’s world, and look forward to supporting the foundation’s mission.”

Jamila Aanzi is an independent international speaker, trainer in leadership and empowerment, and an advocate for gender-equality and diversity and inclusion. During the pandemic, she attained two Bachelor of Education degrees, in business and economics. Currently, she is doing a Master of Education. Aanzi has been selected for multiple international leadership programs including the US State Department’s ‘International Visitor Leadership Program’ and Friends of Europe’s ‘40 under 40 – European Young Leaders’ program. She was the Dutch women’s representative to the United Nations in 2017.

Jamila Aanzi states, “Storytelling is something I truly believe in, and I am very pleased to join the Supervisory Board of World Press Photo to contribute to the purpose of connecting the world to the stories that matter.”

More information here.