Announcing the 2020 Digital Storytelling Contest jury and screening panel

Meet the jury and screening panel of the 2020 Digital Storytelling Contest

We are pleased to introduce the screening panel and jury members who will examine the short documentary film and interactive productions submitted to this 10th edition of our annual Digital Storytelling Contest.

The group of media professionals constituting the screening panel will first view and score the complete set of entries in their category. Around 20 productions in each category will then advance to an independent jury chaired by Zoeann Murphy. The jury, made up of seven leading makers and producers in the field of digital storytelling, will gather in Amsterdam to select the productions to be awarded. The nominees in each category – Interactive, Long and Short – and the nominees for the ‘World Press Photo Interactive of the Year’ and ‘World Press Photo Online Video of the Year’ will be announced on 25 February 2020.

Anna Lena Mehr, Director of Contests at the World Press Photo Foundation, says:

“We are proud to have such a diverse team of experienced professionals judging the entries of our 10th edition of the Digital Storytelling Contest. They reflect the variety of visual storytelling formats enabled by digital technologies and the constant developments in the industry. We are looking forward to the selection they will make for this year’s contest.”

Screening panel



  • Fábio Erdos, Brazil, filmmaker and photographer
  • Puiyee Leong, Singapore, program manager of Objectifs Centre for Photography and Film
  • Ai Mabuchi, Japan, program coordinator for Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival (YIDFF)


  • Nadir Bouhmouch, Morocco, filmmaker and photographer
  • Madi Ju, China, co-founder and executive producer of Yi Shi Yi Se (Beijing)
  • Henrik Kastenskov, Denmark, photojournalist and multimedia producer at Bombay Flying Club


  • Secretary:  Sara Kolster, the Netherlands, interactive director and designer

Contest open for entries until 14 January 2020

Entries for the Digital Storytelling Contest are open until 14 January 2020. It is free to enter and open to all digital storytellers and visual journalists around the world. To highlight diverse visual stories, the Digital Storytelling Contest awards productions in three categories: Interactive, Long, Short. The winners of the headline prizes ‘World Press Photo Interactive of the Year’ and ‘World Press Photo Online Video of the Year’ both receive a cash prize of €10,000 euro.

The awarded productions are showcased to a global audience, and included in the exhibitions featuring the Digital Storytelling Contest. 

Key dates

  • 2 December 2019: Contests open for entries
  • 14 January 2020: Submission deadline. Both contests websites close 12.00 noon CET
  • 17 January - 22 February 2020: Digital Storytelling Contest judging
  • 25 February 2020: Nominees announcement
  • 16 April 2020: Winners announcement 

Image credit: Frank van Beek, Hollandse Hoogte