Announcing the 2016 Multimedia Winners

The international jury of the 2016 World Press Photo Multimedia Contest has awarded four productions in four categories: Short Form Long Form and Immersive Storytelling and Innovative Storytelling.

Lars Boering, managing director of the World Press Photo Foundation, says:

“The winners of the multimedia contest are exceptional productions that will truly inspire us. The media landscape is in constant flux and the future is not fixed. While that creates enormous pressures for many, it also offers incredible opportunities to reporters and storytellers to explore and innovate. All of the nominees in the multimedia contest brought us great stories, and the overall winners show us what is beautiful, powerful and possible.”

Overview of winners:

Short Form
Fatima’s Drawings
Team: Magnus Wennman – Director, photographer, editor and producer
Jenny Svenberg Bunnel – Animator
Organization: Aftonbladet

Second place:
Raising Zay
Team: Meg Vogel – Producer and Editor
Organization: The Cincinnati Enquirer

Third place:
Team: Katinka Hustad – Filmmaker

Long Form
The Surrender
Team: Stephen Maing – Director, Producer, Cinematographer, Editor
Laura Poitras – Producer
Peter Maass – Producer
Betsy Reed – Executive Producer
Brendon Anderegg – Composer
Organization: The Intercept

Second place:
Break In
Team: Mikel Aristregi – Director, producer, camera, pictures, interviews
José Bautista – Director, editor, music composer

Third place
A Year in Space
Team: Shaul Schwarz – Director
Marco Grob – Co-Director
Jonathan Woods – Producer
Andrey Alistratov – Editor
Christina Clusiau – Assistant Editor, Cinematographer
Mike Beck – Executive Producer
Jeffrey Kluger – Executive Producer
Ian Orefice – Executive Producer
Kira Pollack – Executive Producer
Jeremy Turner – Title Sequence Composer
Dan Dzula – Sound Mix
Organization: TIME

Immersive Storytelling
Desperate Crossing
Team: Paolo Pellegrin – Photographer
Scott Anderson – Writer
Rodrigo de Benito Sanz – Digital Designer
Jeremy White – Graphics Designer
Kathy Ryan – Director of Photography
Stacey Baker – Photo Editor
Luke Mitchell – Story Editor
Organization: The New York Times Magazine

Second place:
Life After Death

Written and photographed by John Poole
Audio Production: Sami Yenigun
Design and Development: Wes Lindamood and Tyler Fisher
Translations: Mohamed Trawally
Additional Photography: Tommy Trenchard
Project Manager: Becky Lettenberger
Senior Editors: Kainaz Amaria, Ben de la Cruz, Anne Gudenkauf and Vikki Valentine
Organization: NPR

Third place:
Welcome To Parkersburg West Virginia
Team: Emily Kassie – Director/Producer
Jon Strouss – Associate Producer
Mariah Blake – Writer
Greg Veis – Editor
Rachel Morris – Editor
Raillan Brooks – Researcher
Organization: Highline (The Huffington Post)

Innovative Storytelling
The Displaced
Team: Ben C. Solomon – Director
Imraan Ismail – Director / Cinematography
Chris Milk – Creative Director
Jake Silverstein – Creative Director
Jenna Pirog – Producer
Samantha Storr – Producer
Kathy Ryan – Executive Producer
Patrick Milling Smith – Executive Producer
Andy Wright – Executive Producer
Livio Sanchez – Editing
Ting Poo – Editing
McKenzie Stubbert – Music
Susan Dominus – Additional Reporting
Andrew E. Kramer – Additional Reporting
Marc Santora – Additional Reporting
Gail Bichler – Design Director
Organization: The New York Times

Second place:
Greenland is Melting Away
Team: Josh Haner – photographer; videographer; reporter
Coral Davenport – reporter
Derek Watkins – designer; graphics editor
Larry Buchanan – designer; graphics editor
Crista Chapman – photo editor
Alexandra Garcia – video production editor
Meaghan Looram – photo editor
Hannah Fairfield – editor
Organization: The New York Times

Third place:
Graphic Memories: Tales From Uganda’s Female Former Child Soldiers
Team: Marc Ellison – Freelance photojournalist
Christian Mafigiri – Illustrator
Carla Bower – Editor
Elizabeth Melimopoulos Requena – Assistant Producer

See a gallery of all the winners:

The entries, the judging and the jury:
The contest entries were judged online for the first time this year, with the four specialist juries choosing a shortlist of three nominees per category. The chairs of the four specialist juries comprised a general jury, which met in Amsterdam and selected an overall winner for each category. Insight into the jury's decisions:

Duy Linh Tu, jury chair Short Form, said about this year’s winner Fatima’s Drawings:
“It is a really creative, thoughtful and almost philosophical take on how to tell a story about the long-term emotional effects of war, after something tragic has happened to a child.”

Brian Storm, jury chair Long Form reflected on the winner The Surrender:
“I’m seeing here the result of that wonderful cross-pollination that is taking place now when the world of classic documentary filmmakers is colliding with the world of still photographers. This movie will move you, it will inspire you, and it will educate you on an issue that we all need to be thinking about.”

The multimedia contest is set up separately from the annual photo contest: different rules of entry apply, and the entries are judged by different teams of jury members. You can find further information on the 2016 Multimedia Contest, including biographies of the winners and jury members and contest category definitions here:

2016 Multimedia Contest in De Nieuwe Kerk
The prize-winning productions are now on display at De Nieuwe Kerk. More information about the exhibition can be found here:

You can download the 2016 Awards Days Press kit here:  

Posted April 23 2016

About The World Press Photo Foundation

We are a global platform connecting professionals and audiences through trustworthy visual journalism and storytelling. Founded in 1955 when a group of Dutch photographers organized a contest to share their work with an international audience, the competition has grown into the world’s most prestigious photography award and our mission has expanded. We encourage diverse accounts of the world that present stories with different perspectives. We exhibit those stories to a worldwide audience, educate the profession and the public on their making, and encourage debate on their meaning.

The World Press Photo Foundation is an independent, nonprofit organization, based in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. We receive support from the Dutch Postcode Lottery and are sponsored worldwide by Canon.