Call for entries: 2016 World Press Photo Contest is now open

The World Press Photo Foundation invites all professional photojournalists and visual storytellers worldwide to participate in the 59th annual photo contest.

Entries to the photo contest may only be submitted online via the entry site, which opens today, 2 December, and closes on 13 January 2016, 12.00 (noon) CET.

How to enter the 2016 Photo Contest
Entries may only be submitted online via the World Press Photo entry website:

A username and password are required to enter and can be requested until 7 January 2016, 12.00 (noon) CET. The final deadline for submissions is 13 January 2016, 12.00 (noon) CET.

New this year
To ensure the contest rewards and promotes photojournalism and documentary photography embodying the core journalistic values of accuracy, fairness, transparency and accountability, the World Press Photo Foundation has released a code of ethics, revised entry rules, detailed information on the judging process, and guidance to the new verification process—including four video examples of what is and is not considered to be manipulation.

Contestants will now be required to provide accurate captions—for which there is also detailed guidance—in English and a new fact-checking process will verify all information prior to the winners announcement.

The contest’s categories have also been adjusted. In particular, a new category, Long-Term Projects - Groups, has been introduced and Portraits has been renamed to People. In addition, story entries (except for those in the Long-Term Project categories) will now have a maximum allowance of eight photos.

All new information regarding the 2016 Photo Contest can be found here:

Starting on 1 February 2016, an international jury of leading experts in the field of photojournalism and documentary photography will judge all entries at the World Press Photo Foundation office in Amsterdam. The 2016 Photo Contest will be chaired by Francis Kohn, photo director Agence France-Presse, who will also chair the News jury. The chairs of the other specialized juries are Michaela Herold (Documentary), Tim Clayton (Sports), George Steinmetz (Nature), and Narda van ‘t Veer (People).

Winners announcement
The results of the 2016 Photo Contest will be announced on Thursday, 18 February 2016. This will take place in a press conference in Amsterdam. Contact Laura Beltrán Villamizar at for an invitation.

The jury selects the World Press Photo of the Year 2015 and gives first, second, and third prizes in all categories. All winners receive a Golden Eye Award and are invited to the annual Awards Days, a networking event and celebration of the prizewinners, in Amsterdam on 22 and 23 April 2016. This year, all prizewinners will have their travel and lodging paid for by the World Press Photo Foundation.

The winner of the World Press Photo of the Year 2015 will receive a cash prize of 10,000 EUR, and a selection of camera equipment provided by Canon.

The prizewinning pictures are presented in a yearly publication and in an exhibition that opens in De Nieuwe Kerk (Amsterdam) in April 2016, and travels all year long to around 100 cities in 45 countries.

For further information on the 2016 Photo Contest—the categories, the full list of jury members, as well as a complete overview of the new entry rules and guidelines—please visit:

Posted December 2 2015

About The World Press Photo Foundation

We are a global platform connecting professionals and audiences through trustworthy visual journalism and storytelling. Founded in 1955 when a group of Dutch photographers organized a contest to share their work with an international audience, the competition has grown into the world’s most prestigious photography award and our mission has expanded. We encourage diverse accounts of the world that present stories with different perspectives. We exhibit those stories to a worldwide audience, educate the profession and the public on their making, and encourage debate on their meaning.

The World Press Photo Foundation is an independent, nonprofit organization, based in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. We receive support from the Dutch Postcode Lottery and are sponsored worldwide by Canon.