Multimedia Contest Judging and Announcement Dates

The 2016 Multimedia Contest jury

Judging for the 2016 World Press Photo Multimedia Contest has begun and a shortlist of nominees will be announced on 16 March.

The overall winners will be announced on 23 April during the Awards Days in Amsterdam.

The World Press Photo multimedia contest rewards storytellers producing the best new forms of visual and documentary journalism. The contest is open to multimedia storytellers, visual journalists, producers, and entry coordinators with submissions including the work of a professional visual journalist.

The contest entries are being judged online for the first time this year, with the four specialist juries choosing a shortlist of three nominees per category to be announced on 16 March.

The chairs of the four specialist juries will then comprise a general jury, which will meet in Amsterdam just prior to the Awards Days to select an overall winner for each category. The winner for each category will be announced during the Awards Ceremony on 23 April.

The 2016 Multimedia Contest will award prizes in four categories:

  • Short Form
  • Long Form
  • Immersive Storytelling
  • Innovative Storytelling

The categories for this year were revised to add Innovative Storytelling as a new category. For a detailed overview of the categories, please visit:

Announcement of shortlist: 16 March
A shortlist with three nominees per category will be announced on Wednesday, 16 March at 15.00 CET on the World Press Photo website at:

Judging of final entries: 20 April
The general jury will then meet in Amsterdam on 20 April to judge the three shortlisted nominees and determine an overall winner for each category. For an overview of jury members, please visit:

Announcement of overall winners: 23 April
An overall winner for each category will be announced on 23 April at the Awards Ceremony during the annual Awards Days in Amsterdam.

The Awards Days is a networking event and celebration of the prizewinners with a comprehensive program of presentations by winning photographers and visual storytellers.
For more information on the Awards Days and to purchase tickets, please visit:

Posted March 2 2016

About The World Press Photo Foundation

We are a global platform connecting professionals and audiences through trustworthy visual journalism and storytelling. Founded in 1955 when a group of Dutch photographers organized a contest to share their work with an international audience, the competition has grown into the world’s most prestigious photography award and our mission has expanded. We encourage diverse accounts of the world that present stories with different perspectives. We exhibit those stories to a worldwide audience, educate the profession and the public on their making, and encourage debate on their meaning.

The World Press Photo Foundation is an independent, nonprofit organization, based in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. We receive support from the Dutch Postcode Lottery and are sponsored worldwide by Canon.