IWMF partners with World Press Photo Foundation for 2017 Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award

Anja Niedringhaus © Associated Press

The International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) and the World Press Photo Foundation (WPPF) will jointly host the Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Awards in June 2017 in Washington, D.C., as part of an exciting partnership formed to better support female photojournalists around the globe.

Nominations for this prestigious award are now being accepted.

The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was founded by the IWMF in 2014 to honor the life and work of Anja Niedringhaus, Associated Press (AP) photographer and winner of the IWMF’s 2005 Courage in Journalism Award, who was killed on assignment in Afghanistan in 2014. The award celebrates women photographers whose work demonstrates bravery, dedication and skill, while reporting the news through images.

“We’re delighted to partner with the World Press Photo Foundation to recognize the important contributions of women photojournalists, and to encourage greater diversity in the industry,” said IWMF Executive Director Elisa Lees Muñoz. “We know it will be an important step towards our organizations’ collective goal of better supporting female photojournalists.”

Through this partnership, WPPF will collaborate with the IWMF to grow the Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award. The announcement of the 2017 honorees will take place during the World Press Photo Festival in April 2017. 

The partnership between the IWMF and WPPF will extend beyond the Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award to research and promote gender equality and diversity in both organizations’ programming and projects. The organizations will collaborate on creating a wide range of opportunities for female photojournalists. 

“We believe women are vastly underrepresented in visual journalism worldwide. Our State of News Photography 2016 study found that women make up just 15 percent of our photo contest entrants,” said Lars Boering, Managing Director of the WPPF. He added, “These findings underscore the need to make gender equality a top priority and we are committed to knowing and doing more.”

Each year, the winner of the Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award is selected by a prestigious jury composed of leaders in the field. Previous jurors have included Corinne Dufka (Human Rights Watch & 1997 IWMF Courage Award winner), Carol Guzy (Pulitzer prize-winning photojournalist), Ron Haviv (VII photo agency), Santiago Lyon (The Associated Press), Michele McNally (The New York Times), Bryan Monroe (Temple University, IWMF Board Vice Chair), and Kira Pollack (TIME).

Call for submissions
Candidates for the Courage in Photojournalism Award must be staff or freelance women photographers working in any country. The deadline for 2017 submissions is Wednesday, 1 March.

The 2017 awardee will be publicly honored at a ceremony held in Washington, D.C., will have her work showcased, and will receive a cash prize of $20,000.

Click here to make a submission.

About the IWMF
Since 1990, the International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) has worked to unleash the potential of women journalists as champions of press freedom to transform the global news media. We seek to ensure that women journalists worldwide are fully supported, protected, recognized and rewarded for their vital contributions at all levels of the news media. As a result, consumers will increase their demand for news with a diversity of voices, stories and perspectives as a cornerstone of democracy and free expression.


For media inquiries, please contact Jennifer Hyman, IWMF’s Communications Director, at jhyman@iwmf.org, or Barbara Bufkens, World Press Photo’s Communications and Projects Manager, at communications@worldpressphoto.org.

Posted December 19 2016

About The World Press Photo Foundation

We are a global platform connecting professionals and audiences through trustworthy visual journalism and storytelling. Founded in 1955 when a group of Dutch photographers organized a contest to share their work with an international audience, the competition has grown into the world’s most prestigious photography award and our mission has expanded. We encourage diverse accounts of the world that present stories with different perspectives. We exhibit those stories to a worldwide audience, educate the profession and the public on their making, and encourage debate on their meaning.

The World Press Photo Foundation is an independent, nonprofit organization, based in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. We receive support from the Dutch Postcode Lottery and are sponsored worldwide by Canon.