Announcing new members of our Supervisory Board

The World Press Photo Foundation is pleased to welcome new members to its Supervisory Board.

The Supervisory Board comprises:

  • Oswald Schwirtz, entrepreneur and photographer (Chair)
  • Marlou Banning, chief financial officer, Luchtverkeersleiding Nederland
  • Guido van Nispen, independent governance, advisory and investment positions at various organizations
  • Jolanda Holwerda, founder Lof Foundation, and co-founder Circular Leadership
  • Margot Scheltema, non-executive director of various organizations
  • Narda van 't Veer, founder and owner of Unit, and Ravestijn Gallery
  • Dirk-Jan Visser, independent visual storyteller

World Press Photo Foundation applies a strict separation between the positions and duties of the Supervisory Board on the one hand and the Executive Board (comprising the managing director, supported by the management team) on the other.

The Executive Board is responsible for day-to-day management and is accountable to the Supervisory Board. The Supervisory Board approves the annual accounts, annual report, budget and annual plan, as well as the multiannual financial planning and multiannual policy plan established by the Executive Board.

Members of the Supervisory Board serve four-year terms and no more than eight years in total.

The Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Oswald Schwirtz, said:

“We are indebted to those members of the board who stepped down after the last meeting in 2017. Ebba Hoogenraad, Kadir van Lohuizen, and Jenny Smets have provided exceptional service to World Press Photo over many years, and we are grateful for their exceptional commitment.”

Posted January 17 2018

About World Press Photo